Regions

We have a varied flying area, with sites ranging from easy practice slopes right up to the alpine launch areas of the Hohe Tauern National Park. That means we can offer all stages of flight training – from beginners’ to professional pilot level.

Zell am See

With launch areas in all directions at altitudes of just under 2,000 m above sea-level, the Schmittenhöhe can be reached by cable-car from Schmittental in Zell am See. The landing-site is located between Zell am See and Kaprun, directly south of Fürth station (Pinzgau Railway) and west of the Kaprun country road. The altitude difference here is 1,200 m. With an east wind it is possible to fly over the Sonnalm to Maishofen, enjoying splendid views of Lake Zell along the way. The best time to fly: May to October.

The Schmittenhöhe provides a starting-point for longer cross-country flights and in summer it is possible to cover distances of over 200 km. A particular attraction is that it is possible to fly the first 20km as far as Mittersill without crossing the valley, which means that 40 km return flights are perfectly manageable – even for those with little cross-country experience. This route, known as the “Pinzgau Ridgeway” is also a popular place for tandem paraglides.

Saalbach Hinterglemm

Hinterglemm is known for its particularly good flying conditions in winter. The best launch area in south to easterly winds is usually the Zwölferkogel (approx. 2000 m), whilst in west to north-west winds it is best to start from the west peak of the Schattberg (approx. 2,100 m). There are excellent thermals from as early as February, so visitors coming to Saalbach to ski should always bring their paraglider. The landing-site is located approx. 100 m east of the Zwölferkogel lift station.

The best place to launch in summer is from the Schattberg in Saalbach, from which one can head either to the north or the south. The flying area here is characterised by early thermals and you can find yourself flying over the peaks of the Glemmtal valley as early as 10am! The landing-site is located between Saalbach and Hinterglemm, on the right as you exit Saalbach. In the afternoons strong thermal currents around the landing area make conditions rather unpredictable. It is therefore advisable to only fly in the morning in Glemmtal during the summer months.

Leogang

The launch area is located on the east side of the Asitzkogel (approx. 1,900 m), so you can really only take off on an east wind. The landing-site is located approx. 200 m west of the valley station of the Asitz railway.

Regionen

Die Vielfalt unserer Fluggelände von einfachen Übungshängen, bis hoch zu den alpinen Startplätzen im Nationalpark Hohe Tauern, ermöglicht die Durchführung der gesamten Flugausbildung in unserem Fluggebiet. Vom Anfänger bis zum Profi.

Zell am See

Die Schmittenhöhe verfügt über Startplätze in allen Himmelsrichtungen bis knapp unter 2.000 m Meereshöhe. Man erreicht sie mit einer Gondelbahn aus den Schmittental in Zell am See. Der Landeplatz liegt zwischen Zell am See und Kaprun unmittelbar südlich des Bahnhofes Fürth (Pinzgauer Bahn) und westlich der Kapruner Landesstraße. Der Höhenunterschied beträgt 1.200 m. Bei Ostwind kann man auch über die Sonnalm mit herrlichem Ausblick auf dem Zeller See nach Maishofen fliegen. Beste Zeit: Mai bis Oktober.

Die Schmittenhöhe ist der Ausgangspunkt für ausgedehnte Streckenflüge, wobei im Sommer regelmäßige Distanzen von über 200 km zurückgelegt werden. Das besondere dabei ist, dass man die ersten 20 km bis Mittersill ohne Talquerung fliegen kann, 40 km Ziel- und Rückflüge sind daher auch für Streckenflug Einsteiger relativ einfach zu bewältigen. Dieser sogenannte „Pinzgauer Spaziergang“ wird auch mit Tandemschirmen regelmäßig beflogen.

Saalbach Hinterglemm

Hinterglemm zeichnet sich durch besonders gute Flugmöglichkeiten im Winter aus. Bei Süd bis Ostwinden wird normalerweise vom Zwölferkogel (ca. 2.000 m) gestartet, bei West bis Nordwestwinden startet man am besten vom Schattberg Westgipfel (ca. 2.100 m). Bereits ab Februar findet man eine gute Thermik. Wenn man zum Schifahren nach Saalbach kommt, sollte man daher den Gleitschirm immer dabei haben. Der Landeplatz befindet sich ca. 100 m östlich der Talstation des Zwölferkogelliftes.

Im Sommer startet man am besten vom Schattberg in Saalbach. Es kann sowohl nach Norden als auch nach Süden gestartet werden. Das Fluggebiet zeichnet sich durch besonders früh einsetzende Thermik aus. Bereits ab 10 Uhr kann man über die Gipfel des Glemmtales fliegen. Der Landeplatz befindet sich zwischen Saalbach und Hinterglemm, rechts gleich nach dem Ortsende von Saalbach. Aufgrund von starker Thermik im Bereich des Landeplatzes entstehen am Nachmittag schwer kalkulierbare Bedingungen. In den Sommermonaten sollte im Glemmtal daher nur am Vormittag geflogen werden.

Leogang

Der Startplatz befindet sich auf der Ostseite des Asitzkogels (ca. 1.900 m). Es kann daher nur bei Ostwind vernünftig gestartet werden. Der Landeplatz befindet sich ca. 200 m westlich der Talstation Asitz Bergbahnen.